Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Robots and man — Parallax Forums

Robots and man

WaldoDTDWaldoDTD Posts: 142
edited 2006-08-04 14:32 in Robotics
Hey,
Just bouncing around a few ideas and thought they might be of interest. It is hard to tell where my obsession with robotics comes from but I think that it could stem from a natural drive that is inherent in all human beings. So here lies an intellectual blitzkrieg be gentle its my first time

The first writings on intelligent machines actually can be dated back to the Greek myths of Pygmalion (sculptor that created his bride). The first autonomous machines however didn't start to make an appearance until ~1400 BC in Babylonia where the first water clocks were made. There are also several parables in the Jewish Kaballah that also deal indirectly with robots. One such parable details the creation of a golem with the phrase "God is truth" on his forehead in Hebrew. However once the golem is activated he erases the first letter in truth thus spelling in Hebrew dead. The golem then states that if mankind is able to make his own people then there is no incentive to believe in god since man has usurped his position.