Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
IR help — Parallax Forums

IR help

Kd7laxKd7lax Posts: 42
edited 2006-05-20 20:38 in Robotics
Hi guys..
I am totally new to robots so forgive my noobish ways.

I put a ir emitter and a ir dectector on my robot ... I hooked the emitters + side to hot (6v) and the - side to a 220ohm resistor and then hooked the resistor to pin# 0 .. For the detector I hooked up ( facing towards me) the left side to a 220ohm resistor and then the resistor to pin #5 the middle to ground and the right to hot.

I used the fallowing code to test it
' -----[noparse][[/noparse] Title ]----------------------------------------------------------------
' Mini Sumo 4.1 : IR Sensor Test
' {$STAMP BS2}

' -----[noparse][[/noparse] I/O Definitions ]------------------------------------------------------

LfIrOut         CON     0                       ' left IR LED output
LfIrIn          VAR     IN5                   ' left IR sensor input

' -----[noparse][[/noparse] Variables ]------------------------------------------------------------

irBits          VAR     Nib                     ' storage for IR target data
irLeft          VAR     irBits.BIT1

' -----[noparse][[/noparse] Main Code ]------------------------------------------------------------

Read_Left:
  FREQOUT LfIrOut, 1, 38500                     ' modulate IR LED
  irLeft = ~LfIrIn                              ' read input (1 = target)

Display:
  DEBUG HOME
  DEBUG "L", CR
  DEBUG "--",CR
  DEBUG BIN1 irLeft

PAUSE 20
  GOTO Read_Left

Have I done any thing wrong? because it is not working... I get nothing on the debug screen.

Let me know if I hooked something up wrong or if my code is bogus.
thanks guys!
-Mike

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Visit my website @ www.kd7lax.com- Devoted to ham radio

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-05-19 14:20