Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Rechargeable batteries? — Parallax Forums

Rechargeable batteries?

RonDRonD Posts: 2
edited 2006-04-11 09:08 in Robotics
I'm just getting started and have a simple question. Will rechargeable batteries work with the Boe-Bots? If so what is the best kind?
Thanks
Ron

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2006-03-22 16:09
    The issue with rechargeables is that they have less voltage than Alkalines.

So, 4 alkalines, at 1.5 volts each, is 6 volts.

4 NiCd's, or 4 NiMh's, have 1.2 volts each when fully charged. 4 x 1.2 == 4.8 volts. Well, 4.8 volts is below the 5.5 volts the BOE board regulator needs. So, you can add a battery -- 5 x 1.2 == 6 volts (neat, huh?). Now you just have to find a place to put the 5th battery.

I think NiMh (Nickel-Metal Hydride) batteries have no 'memory', hold their charge pretty well, and hold more charge than a NiCd.
  • Harry BrownHarry Brown Posts: 5
    edited 2006-03-22 16:33
    Ron,

·· I rigged an extra battery holder in series on my Boe-Bot to get 6 volts with rechargeables.· It works fine.· (Fits under the Boe just over the tailwheel and still has room go get the cell in and out.· I used double faced tape to hold it to the chassis)
  • RsadeikaRsadeika Posts: 3,824
    edited 2006-03-22 20:59
    I use the Ray-O-Vac rechargeable batteries, they charge up to 1.5V. Unfortunately Ray-O-Vac no longer carries these batteries, but I found a Canadian company,·Sundance Solar that carries a rechargeable 1.5V battery. When I start to get low on the batteries that I have, then I will have to give them a try.

Ray
  • LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-03-23 16:23
    Not only do the NiMh recharibles have less voltage, then generally have less useful life or AmpHours [noparse][[/noparse]without recharge].
    Still, they can save money and work well in solar recharged devices.