Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Some questions — Parallax Forums

Some questions

SMSM Posts: 3
edited 2006-03-30 16:13 in Robotics
Hi,

I'm a beginner in robotics and want to know some things before spending money.

As far as I know you need a Motor-Controller to connect a DC motor to the Boebot.
-Do I need one too to connect two Servosto the Boebot-board?

-Can I connect the battery pack (from the Boebot) / a DC Motor (540 Motor) / 2Servos / to the Parallax Professional Development Board?

-Is it a good idea to use the Professional Development Board for a robotics project?

confused.gif

Ps: Thank you for answers

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2006-03-29 15:40
    No, you can drive the BOE-Bot servos directly -- that's how it's designed.

You can connect things to the PDB, but its not designed to be mounted on anything and you'd need a platform much bigger than the BOE-Bot to hold it.

The PDB is a great platform for project development. If you have a mobile platform big enough to hold it, then I'm sure you could in fact use it in that manner.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
  • SMSM Posts: 3
    edited 2006-03-29 18:40
    Hi,
    Thank you for the fast answer.
    I have a plattform big enough to carry the PDB,
    I only need some answers to the second line to confirm what i think, because i'm not totally sure about the specifications
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2006-03-29 18:52
    SM,

·· You will likely need a bigger (more current capacity) battery pack to handle the increased load and current draw.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Tech Support
    csavage@parallax.com
  • LSBLSB Posts: 175
    edited 2006-03-30 01:32
    SM,
    I'd like to add to the answers you've gotton so far because I too am a beginner and eager to share what I've so recently learned.