Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Scribbler Stepper Motors — Parallax Forums

Scribbler Stepper Motors

st33dst33d Posts: 4
edited 2006-03-10 02:00 in Robotics
I'm planning on connecting my Scribbler to some unipolar stepper motors (second one down I think). I bought my motors from an english company called Active Robots. They have a control circuit that will allow me to operate a stepper straight from the PIC. It will require 4 I/O lines. That's 8 lines in total to replace the DC motors with steppers.

I know the hacker port has at least 3 I/O lines I can use, and there's 4 taken up by the DC motors, though I'm not sure if those are the power lines coming out of the plugs on the board, or whether they come from the I/O pins on the Basic stamp. So there might only be 2 lines for the DCs.

Has anyone got any suggestions on how I can rerout control? I'm quite happy to ditch a few sensors. If I'm going to run into a power issue I would love to know about it. I'm very new to this whole re-soldering gig (although I have just successfully extended one of the LEDs on long wires so it can draw on photographic paper - green LEDs will leave a mark on photographic paper - saves on building a circuit for a solenoid to lift and drop a pen eh?).

Comments

• LoopyBytelooseLoopyByteloose Posts: 12,537
    edited 2006-03-08 16:32
    Well, it seems that you will have to by-pass a left and a right motor controller. Each uses one line of logic. There is also a stall line.
    You would definitely have to re-write code to drive the steppers and use two other inputs from the hacker lines UNLESS.....

Why not see if you can locate a couple of stepper controller chips to do the same thing as the motor logic chip does now?
    They do exist and may make it a better project. You could program an SX-28 to do it and use its internal oscillator. Can you program in SX/B?