Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Basic info requst — Parallax Forums

Basic info requst

Maxan3dMaxan3d Posts: 4
edited 2005-12-10 16:01 in Robotics
Hi,

I'm a 3d graphics artist and freelance match mover for video/film effects work. However, I have NO idea where to start on this project. I want to make a motion control rig for light-weight miniDV cameras. Now, I know I could buy a Scribbler robot and use the parts to create simple dolly rig like for repeating the same dolly movements over and over. But, I want to make a complete rig using programable component parts that aren't from "toy" robots for durability and steadiness.

Here's my question: I "think" I can get some servo motors, an MMC and Stamp controller to make what I want. Can I use my PC to program this Stamp component to repeat a specific motion with any precision?

You can probably tell from this post that I have no clue what I'm talking about! [noparse];)[/noparse]

ANY info would be greatly appreciated. I have no idea where to start other than getting the Scribbler and starting from there.

Thanks,

Dave
www.max-realms.com
www.max-animation.com

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2005-11-14 14:26
    The timing on a BS2 may not be repeatable enough for what you are trying to do.

As I understand it, a motion control rig MUST move the camera in EXACTLY the same path several times -- once for the background, once for the spacecraft, etc.

The BS2 (and the aircraft servo's that it supports) is kind of 'sloppy' -- you get 2000 Basic Instructions per second (about 300 uSec per instruction, actually) and I don't know how 'repeatable' a servo position is. And the 'clock' in the BS2 is 'resonator' based, so it's +- 1% accurate.

You COULD use the BS2 as a 'brain' for more precise components, though. Have it issue SEROUT commands to another system to move stuff. The repeatability is there in the program, the question is the 'slop' in the hardware components.