Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Accelerometer data logger — Parallax Forums

Accelerometer data logger

ProfJPProfJP Posts: 2
edited 2005-11-23 20:37 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi,
I am a physics teacher and I would like to (try to) build some accelerometer data logger, to study... a water rocket! After having searched a little, I think it would be convenient to use some Analog Device accelerometer circuit (ADXL series) and, may be, a Basic Stamp. But, although I am quite familiar with most things in an analog undergraduate physics laboratory, I am less than a beginner in digital circuits and especially in microcontrollers and especially in Basic Stamps confused.gif. Could somebody give me some indications or advices? First of all, I have a few questions :
- I have read somewhere that the acquisitions could be made by a Basic Stamp with at least 10 s between points. If so, my project will not be possible like this. Is it true?
- Output of most ADXL are analogic ; so I would need to use some A/D converter to generate input signal to Basic Stamp. Which one would be convenient?
- Some ADXL have PWM Output. Would it be convenient to make Basic Stamp input?
Thanks.

Comments

• aliniousalinious Posts: 51
    edited 2005-11-19 16:30
    Hello ProfJP,

Parallax sells the Memsic 2125 Dual-axis Accelerometer (www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28017), which is easily interfacable to the Basic Stamp 2 series of microcontrollers. It is mounted on a small printed circuit board which can easily be plugged into a breadboard for prototyping. The Memsic 2125 uses pulse width modulation for the output of both the X and Y axis. The BS2 series has a pulse width modulation command which allows for direct (no ADC needed) interfacing of the Memsic 2125. Also, on the webpage for the link I posted above, there is source code examples that show how to interface the Memsic 2125 to the BS2 along with calculating GForce, acceleration, and tilt (rotation).