Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wireless command project — Parallax Forums

Wireless command project

gnomebotgnomebot Posts: 6
edited 2005-09-27 12:52 in Robotics
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum, but I've been doing robotics projects for a few years. I've done some BEAM and some remote control using an ft639 servo controller chip and JAVA. Unfortunately, my electronics knowledge is very lacking.

I'm currently trying to send commands from my PC to my bot.

I have purchased an RF trans and rec, here are the specs:

single channel RF data transmitter and receiver.

* Distance: 100M(330 feet)
* Type: RF radio
* Carrier freq.[noparse]:([/noparse]315MHz)
* Max data rate: 10KHz
* Power supply: 5V~6V
* Encoder/Decoder: No
* Output type: Square wave
* Size: 20mmx 18mm x 5mm (Tx)
* Size: 30mm x 20mm x 5mm (Rx)

My question is: do I need to set up an ocillator circuit on either end, or can I just send serial data from my pc and expect it to come out the other end and have my BS2sx serin be able to read the data?

Ultimately, I would like to be able to remotely control the bot from a JAVA app over the net. I already have working solution for [noparse][[/noparse]PC] to [noparse][[/noparse]internet] to [noparse][[/noparse]PC] to [noparse][[/noparse]serial data out].

Thanks for time,

Sean

Comments

• edited 2005-09-23 18:31
    A link to the product page for the RF devices you are using would help. That way, we can download the manual and try to figure it out.

As an aside, here's a link to an RC scheme that uses the Memsic MX 2125 accelerometer to radio-control a Boe-Bot with tilt:

A Tilt Radio Controller for Your Boe-Bot
  • mmmm Posts: 56
    edited 2005-09-24 02:42
    http://www.rentron.com/Stamp_RF.htm

Check the link above also it has excellent tutorial on using the basic stamp to send serial data over RF, even though the max baud and frequency are different than your devices, the code should be useable.