Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
newbie question — Parallax Forums

newbie question

smk8ersmk8er Posts: 13
edited 2005-07-17 16:16 in Robotics
Hello all and thanks for looking at this. I am very new to basic stamp and i have a Boe Bot on its way to me as i am typing this. Eventually i will be building an underwater ROV and would like to be able to operate it thru my laptop with a tether. Can i do the following with basic stamp: run a video feed with a compass heading and also control motor functions with basic stamp or is this to much? I know i have a long ways before this happens. But i would like to know so i can continue looking around. I also cant wait to build the boe bot and get it running. thanks again all!

Comments

• Bruce BatesBruce Bates Posts: 3,045
    edited 2005-07-17 03:24
    smk8er -

Based on just what you've said so far, I don't see anything particularly challanging, with the following caveats. There may be others as well, as you get into the design phase.

The video feed should be completely external to the Stamp, serviced by a piece of coax embedded in the tether, except if you choose to use an OSD (on screen display) technique to insert the heading text and overlay the compass heading on the video feed. If that appeals to you, take a look at the BOB-xx series of OSD modules here:
    http://www.decadenet.com/

The motor control issue is fairly trivial, as is/are sending any additional control signals. The signal path within the tether should have to do/be one of the following, in order to minimize the number of tether conductors. Here the concerns are weight, cost, size (diameter) and associated water resistance (drag) of the tether:

a) Multiplexed using some method (time division or otherwise) such that signals from multiple sources can be sent on the same set of conductors (signal path) successfully,

or