Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
programming two(or more) 7-segment leds with pbasic2.5 — Parallax Forums

programming two(or more) 7-segment leds with pbasic2.5

FarNasFarNas Posts: 3
edited 2005-01-04 23:31 in Learn with BlocklyProp
hi im rather new to basic stamps and their programming, i was working on a project to create a simple clock and i stumbled upon the problem of driving two 7-segment led displays at once, with a pic16c57c. i managed to multiplex them and i think i have the wiring correct, but i cant seem to figure out how to control each digit separately through the code (using pbasic 2.5), i know i must be missing something small and simple, but i cant seem to figure it out. i'd appreciate any help, thanks =).

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-12-30 16:19
    Multiplexing is the process of momentarily selecting one digit (by activating its common line) and placing the segement data for it on the control pins. After a short period, the other digit is activated and its pattern is placed on the outputs.

You can see how this is done with two dice patterns in the old Parallax application notes for the BS1. StampWorks shows how to do it with 7-segment displays and explains why it's not very practical (in most situations) to do this in PBASIC.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas Office
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2004-12-31 00:07
    Jon,

·· Speaking of multiplexing, in a project you did for the StampWorks kit, you use the MAX7219 with 4 7-seg displays.· Your schematic doesn't show any resistors on the segments of the display, but the projects are all presumably written for the NX-1000 board, so are they assumed to be there?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage

Knight Designs
    324 West Main Street
    P.O. Box 97
    Montour Falls, NY 14865
    (607) 535-6777

Business Page:·· http://www.knightdesigns.com