Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New To The Forum — Parallax Forums

New To The Forum

kelvin jameskelvin james Posts: 531
edited 2004-11-02 07:31 in BASIC Stamp
Hello This is my first post here and i want want to commend all the pros and knowledgable posters here for helping us wannabies. My history is robotics schooling, mostly old stuff like PLC programming, CNC programming, old machine language and actual hands-on operation of industrial robots/cnc. My project i am working on is quite vast, considering i have never worked with a stamp or pbasic before. What i'm trying to do here is emulate a cnc/robotic style control of a stepper motor with the stamp. This is my hardware setup:
Bs24p
Memkey and 16 button keypad
SE serial lcd
12v 1.8 degree motor
Little step-u controller
128 quadrature optical encoder

Operation:
Basically setup to work as the same as "teach-mode" for robotics
The encoder is the manual control of the motor.
All positions, speeds and time of movement are saved to memory.
All data is used to run the motor in manual modes or auto modes.
Of course the lcd is to display the numerical status of the motor and keypad functions.

Well, i guess you can say this is fun, but i'm sure my hair is a few shades grayer now.
But it is pretty cool when you hit that "victory", that you thought would never come.
For anyone starting out here " READ THE MANUAL !!!" It will save you a ton of GRIEF.
Anyway, for the most part, it is pretty well complete, just about got all the slots maxed out on the 24p, and by the way, it can take a load of reprogramming. thousands +
I do find that sometimes it freezes part way uploading to the stamp, anyone else experience this?
I'm using 2.1 and xp, if i shut done 2.1 and open again, it is fine.

I am going through my testing now, and i find in manual mode, where the encoder is pulsing out to motor in remote through the step-u, it is too slow.