Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
different hardware compatibility? — Parallax Forums

different hardware compatibility?

MatthewMatthew Posts: 200
edited 2004-10-17 21:33 in BASIC Stamp
I apologize if my question sounds very stupid (I'm new to this stuff, and just ordered a Discovery kit!).

Anyways, can you use any type of sensor with the Parallax's stamp? Am I correct when I say all sensors give an analog output, and a ADC is needed to convert that to digital so that the stamp can understand it?

Thanks,
Matthew

Comments

• kb2hapkb2hap Posts: 218
    edited 2004-10-16 04:05
    depends on what kind of sensor your looking for. If you talking about a photo eye or push button there already digital (1 or 0)(on/off). If you were using a thermocouple or a variable device then you may need an ADC. Analog is a variable range or amount not on or off. hope this helps a little. Theres alot of knowledgable people on this forum who can help.

kb2hap

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    DTQ
  • DonDon Posts: 34
    edited 2004-10-16 16:25
    To be directly compatible with the Stamp (and other microcontrollers) a sensor has to has to generate a voltage that is acceptable to the Stamp.· In most cases, this means that the sensor's output must be in the range of 0 to 5 volts.· As another poster mentioned, if the sensor output is continuous (meaning that it can produce any voltage in that range), you'll need to do an analog to digital conversion on the input.· If the sensor's output is digital (meaning that it produces either a high or a low voltage) the Stamp can read it directly.