Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MSF time signal decoding — Parallax Forums

MSF time signal decoding

PhilipPhilip Posts: 11
edited 2004-10-17 12:27 in BASIC Stamp
Hi Folks,

I'm so new to this that I don't even know what a stamp looks like so please take it easy on me, I do have one on order though. However, my background is as an audio engineer, I recorded orchestras, so you get the idea :-)

However, I would like to use a stamp to decode the MSF time signal that is broadcast from Rugby in England, I believe there is a version broadcast in the USA called something like WWVB that uses exactly the same format when demodulated.

I can get a device to produce the demodulated MSF signal which seems to be·a serial data stream·and it was my intention of using a stamp to decode this signal into time. However, as this isn't exactly my area I was wondering if anyone has done anything similar or if there is any sample PBASIC code out there that might give me a clue as to where to start? In fact I was wondering if it can even be done?

My cunning plan is, eventually once I get the hang of things, to use this time signal to automatically start video tape recorders capable of remote operation. Clearly I have to work up to that so initially I want to suck the time out of the MSF stream and use it to keep a real time clock accurate. Probably one of these:

http://www.warburtech.com/modules/pocket.watch.b/

Then I want to use a keypad to program alarms into the RTC and then I will use these alarms to drive the stamp to produce the correct sequences to remote control the VTR. I am breaking the process down into steps so decoding the MSF is the first step.

I'd be grateful for any info, ideas or sample code. As yet I haven't got my stamp and so haven't tried writing·any PBASIC but am interested enough such that I'm doing this even though I don't really need to.

Thanks,
Philip.

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-10-17 01:49