Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How do I access multiple 1-wire devices on a single pin? — Parallax Forums

How do I access multiple 1-wire devices on a single pin?

Matt ArmstrongMatt Armstrong Posts: 4
edited 2004-09-13 01:36 in BASIC Stamp
As I understand it, the whole point of the 1-wire interface is to allow access to up to 64 unique devices on a single I/O pin. I am interested in using four DS2760·thermocouple sensors but cannot find any sample code that shows how to access more than one device on the same pin. All of the sample programs gather the unique ID from the device, but do not seem to make provisions for having more than one device on the I/O pin. Can anyone provide some sample code to address this?

Also, is there any way to access 1-wire devices using the Javelin stamp? I'm a software engineer by trade and specialize in desktop applications, so the syntax of PBASIC is taking some time for me to get used to, I'm much more comfortable working with OOP languages.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-Matt Armstrong

Comments

• NewzedNewzed Posts: 2,503
    edited 2004-09-12 00:11
    Each 1-wire device has, or is supposed to have, a unique address.· Do you hve the addresses of your four thermocouples.· I have a code to read the address of a 1-wire device.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Sid Weaver
    Visit the Piggyback Page

http://hometown.aol.com/newzed/index.html
    ·
  • Matt ArmstrongMatt Armstrong Posts: 4
    edited 2004-09-12 11:57
    Well,I haven't bought the hardware yet. I was hoping to solve some of these software "unknowns" before I actually invest in the hardware. The code you have for reading the ID, does it look something like this?

OWOUT OW, %0001, [noparse][[/noparse]ReadNet]                    ' get serial number
    OWIN  OW, %0010, [noparse][[/noparse]SPSTR 8]                    ' store in SPRAM