Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Communication btw Propellers and mic-to-head object — Parallax Forums

Communication btw Propellers and mic-to-head object

Dear All,

I wanted to ask once more for help regarding a development project I am doing using the Propeller 1. I already posted two discussion in the past, but I have still a lot of unclear things to clarify due to my poor understanding of PASM (I am new to the job).

Let me start by giving you an understanding of my project:
For my university group, I am tasked to develop a way to have audio communication between two Propeller 1 Activity Boards. At the moment, I want to input, by microphone, voice into a Propeller 1 and have it come out through headphones connected to another Propeller 1, with a direct physical connection between them.

Here is how I am attacking the problem:
I firstly familiarized myself with the microphone to headphone object, with a few modifications (with help form the forum) and choosing the right mic, it works well and I am satisfied by the audio quality.

I then checked and fixed a PCM (13-bits) to A-law (8-bits) encoding script that was previously developed by my research group: the signal from the ADC part of the microphone to headphone object , is taken, encoded, decoded and output to the headphone after DAC. The conversion works well (I will push it in the GitHub once I have properly understood it).

At this point I would like to split the microphone to headphone object so that I talk into Propeller Activity Board (A) and output the audio from Propeller Activity Board (B). My idea to do this (and understand PASM on the way) is the following:

1) Modify the microphone to headphone object so that the output of the AD conversion (13-bit PCM put into a cog long register) is saved in the hub, picked later form the hub and used for the DA conversion.