Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
beginner trouble- LSM9DS1 — Parallax Forums

beginner trouble- LSM9DS1

I'm new to everything here. However, I'm really having trouble with sensors.

That's not quite true, I can blink an LED, and I successfully used the INA219 current sensor. However, I can't get the LSM9DS1 9dof IMU to work.

I'm using the demo code from avsa242's p2 spin standard library: https://github.com/avsa242/p2-spin-standard-library

I'm running into multiple problems trying to use LSM9DS1 via I2C.

1) I can't compile anything with Propeller Tool. I consistently get the error 'Expected "," or end of line'.
1a) I can't figure out how to add a library path to propeller tool--am I just missing it?

2) I can compile and upload using FlexProp, but all I get via serial is 'LSM9DS1 driver failed to start - halting' and I can't figure out what's going wrong.

Help?

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,926
    edited 2023-06-01 03:49

If you have a newer installation of Propeller Tool, you'll find the library in you Documents folder under your user name. In my case it's here:
    -- C:\Users\jmcph\Documents\Propeller Tool\Library

Put your libraries in that folder and try again. Propeller Tool uses a fixed library location. Flex Prop allows you to add custom paths, so you can add your Propeller Tool library path to it. Also consider Spin Tools by @macca. It has the look and feel of Propeller Tool -- but it's better (and x-platform). And as Parallax has pulled the plug on Propeller Tool (which it really hasn't improved since it was created), Spin Tools may be a better option. Macca has been very responsive to user reports of issues and feature requests. Spin Tools also allows the addition of library paths, so I point to my Propeller Tool library.

edited 2023-06-01 03:54

Never mind -- that code was written to work in Flex Prop only; Propeller Tool does not support conditional compilation directives. I'm not sure if those directives work in Spin Tools.