Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Issues while booting from a micro SD card — Parallax Forums

Issues while booting from a micro SD card

Hello!

This is my first post on the forms, I have been using the propeller 2 on a custom board for about 8 months now using flexcc to compile my C code. Recently I have been attempting to boot the propeller from an SD card using the standard pins and layout shown in the Datasheet (P58-P61). Unfortunately, while I am able to mount this SD card using the mount functionality in flexprop and TAQOZ the propeller seems like it won't enter SD boot mode and the only way I can run code is using a USB serial connection.

Setup:

• I have a fat32 formatted sd with a file in the root named "_P2_BOOT.BIX".
  • SD card connected to P58-61 with no pullup resistors (according to the documentation the SD card has the required pull-ups to enable SD boot mode)

I have been able to load the binary file using P2 ROM Monitor using the command "R_P2_BOOT.BIX". It seems like the SD card and propeller are communicating properly and the binary file is able to execute using this method, so I think my issue is with putting the prop into sd boot mode.

I appreciate any help or insight anyone can offer!

Thanks,

Riley

Comments

• There's been some reports of issues with the SD bootloader, IIRC. Is the card freshly formatted? If not, give that a try.

• Interesting, I have tried 2 different sd cards both freshly formatted. Has there been any talk about quick fixes like reflashing the bootloader?

• evanhevanh Posts: 15,192

The most common problem people run into is stopping the SD card from booting when trying to use serial boot. The ROM boot sequence gives priority to the SD card if it is bootable.

However, a pull-up on P59 will bypass SD booting and just wait for serial only.