Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
cognew Spin vs C — Parallax Forums

cognew Spin vs C

I have been playing around with the P1 for a few years now, programming it exclusively in C. I decided to finally take a look at Spin, mostly on a whim. The first thing that stood out was that when you called cognew to start a process in a separate cog, you are able to have arguments. When programming in C, using SimpleIDE and the SimpleTools.h library, the cognew does not allow your functions to take any arguments.

One of the first bits of example code in either language is a multicore version of the blinking light "Hello World" program. The C version has two separate blink functions with the delay times hard coded. The Spin version has the blink method take several arguments, including pin number, and the counter ticks for the delay. So the same method can be used for both cogs. There seems to be no way to do this in C or C++.

I never understood why the C version of cognew does not allow your functions to take arguments. I thought it must be using function pointers, which allow you to pass arguments to the function being pointed to. Seeing the cognew in Spin makes me even more confused as to why the C version is that way.

Is there something preventing the C cognew function from allowing the called function to take arguments?

Thanks in advance for any information.

Comments

• JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,912
    edited 2022-04-06 18:08

In Spin, cognew() function only ever takes two arguments -- but they'll change based on the code you're wanting to run. In most cases that will be a PASM block and will look like this

cog = cognew(@entry, @start_of_vars) + 1

The first parameter is the address of the code to execute (that's in a DAT block), and the second is the address of the hub variable that serves as the "mailbox" (this is called par in the PASM code). We can access other hub variables offset from par.

The other mechanism with cognew looks like this: