Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
schematic symbols — Parallax Forums

schematic symbols

Im an old electrician and electronics tech.
while reading the schematic symbols page the image for the wires not connected is actually incorrect.
and could be very confusing to a new reader.
the following link contains the correct image .
https://www.allaboutcircuits.com/textbook/reference/chpt-9/wires-and-connections/

you would not believe how many students end up burning their projects up by misreading a schematic especially those schematics that are not clear enough to read

Comments

• JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,214
    edited 2021-08-29 15:11

This is an old gripe of mine as well, and like the author, I use the “hybrid” notation method too. The worst offenders seem to be the small Taiwanese companies. I’ve seen different notational styles on the same data sheet. Really makes you appreciate the clarity and uniformity of the old TI datasheets.

• yeah even though I'm retired now I still teach classes in Ham radio building (Not super complicated) but most of my students have never held a soldering iron before.
    while I'm teaching them to be careful with reading a schematic many times they miss the difference between between the hybrid and the old standards
    and its rough to keep them from getting discouraged when they make a mistake
    many times they download a schematic to build from and their not very clear due to small size, When they expand or zoom in them the images get fuzzy and a hybrid notation can be easily misread

• evanhevanh Posts: 15,126

On pickiness, where is this offending page?

• JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,214
    edited 2021-08-29 23:36

Deleted. After reading Evan’s question I can see he is talking about a page that wasnt provided in the original post. Good question.

• @evanh said:
    On pickiness, where is this offending page?

this was the page.
    https://learn.parallax.com/support/reference/schematic-symbols