Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with Using Spi To Access The Sd Card — Parallax Forums

Help with Using Spi To Access The Sd Card

I want to be able (eventually) to access files on an sd card using SPI.

And since I am just learning, and finding it difficult to comprehend PASM or C code, I put together a basic skeleton of a block driver in spin, is incomplete, since there are several points I'm stuck on.

I'm using spin because that's the one I feel most comfortable with.

So with my uncompleted driver (see attached file)
There are several points which are befuddling me, and if anyone could be so kind as to point out my mistakes, that would be super.

I know there are many excellent complete drivers out there already in the wild, but it's more important to me to understand what's going on under the hood rather than just take a script and implement it.

It is based on Jonathon Dummer's Safe_Spi.spin object that came with Tomas Rokicki's fsrw.spin object

What's more important to me is to know WHY, rather than HOW (if that makes sense lol)

Thanks JD

Point 1 - Use chip_select and chip_deselect methods.
I want to use ChipSelect() and ChipDeselect() methods to signal to the card that it is selected,
as opposed to using inline statements to set the pins states.

Where I am confused is where exactly to place those method calls and in which methods.
I'm not sure at all that I can use chipselect() and/or chipedselect() calls because the CommandSend() method calls itself. (see footnote)

Point 2 - Use wait_till_ready() method.
I want to use the WaitTillReady() method to ensure the card is free to accept commands, before actually sending the commands.

Once again, I'm confused at which methods should call the WaitTillReady() method. (see footnote)

Point 3 - CRC table
Do I need a CRC table?
I don't think its needed but as I understand things, some CARDS want or expect the correct CRC

Point 4 - Speed