Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Cogs running in parallel - Newbie stuff! — Parallax Forums

Cogs running in parallel - Newbie stuff!

Your typical useless local newbie here again, and I'm looking for information on using the major power of the Propeller2 chip - the multiple cogs running in parallel!

Example code and/or a detailed tutorial would be nice, and some pointers would help too!

For background, all this is supposed to be done in Spin2, tested there (on a P2 Edge w/ breadboard) then compiled to make it faster, but the whole point is to get things done in parallel.

Imagine, if you will, an orchestra. Pseudo-code:

In Cog 0, the Conductor raises the baton, and brings it down! Upon that signal
Cog 1, the violins go scrape
Cog 2, the woodwinds go tweet
Cog 3, the horns go honk
and in Cog 4 the tympani goes BOOM;

Obviously these should all happen in parallel. Each cog needs to share some data (e.g. the string "Beethoven's 5th") but not much (in my application, anyhow).

However, I'm terribly unclear on just how to put code in cogs (put code in the hub?), share data between cogs (put it into the hubram?) and fire off one signal that all the other cogs should pay attention to (cogatn?). If you stop a cog does it keep all its memories for the next start? Can you make them loop endlessly until the signal comes again or is restarting a better way?

I have code in Spin2 for Conductor(), violins(scrape), woodwinds(tweet), &c., but all running in sequence in Cog 0, making for lousy music*. Unfortunately, my search-fu upon the forum isn't coming up with much on how to parallel them - perhaps there's a thread or a project somewhere I've missed?

Anyhow, thanks much for what I have been able to find! I'll keep poking around. S.

• Note: References to music are strictly for illustrative purposes. I'm not actually trying to do MIDI (or even video) here, just embedded parallel processing.

Comments

• pik33pik33 Posts: 2,350
    edited 2021-03-30 12:58