Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
An inquiry into the state of C dev tools for the P1 — Parallax Forums

An inquiry into the state of C dev tools for the P1

I've been working with the Prop 1 for about 6 months now for work, and have had rather inexplainable bugs or odd behavior at times (eg, the first line of code in main() being a print statement that doesn't run), or other hard-to-track-down issues that are hard to reliably reproduce. While I am not an expert in C programming, I have done a fair amount of it already, and am perplexed by issues like these. Is propgcc to blame? Or is CMM Compact with -Os Size optimization furthering complications?

My experience before the Prop in C is Arduino/Nios II platforms, and in the case of the latter there's a wonderful debugger interface where I can go line-by-line, see what ASM the C code compiled to, peek/poke registers and memory values, etc.

The Prop 1 has been not nearly as forgiving for the applications I'm using it for (commercial environments where reliability is important (thus, I unfortunately can't post my code)). The code isn't particularly complex usually, making use of Parallax's libraries and a small handful of debugged and tested custom libraries (though I never do things like malloc, preferring to keep all memory uses and buffer sizes predetermined) and larger than necessary.

While I absolutely love the hardware design of the Prop 1, I feel it's become a significant chore to develop for in a professional environment (though I can definitely see the appeal for hobbyist/educational use). I know there's the ViewPort tool, which looks like it would be useful, but the registration page seems to be down. To tl;dr everything, I'm looking to figure out the following:

-is propgcc (C in particular) completely refined and robust (to a point where it's ready for industry use?)