Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
[SOLVED-ish] Propeller C: behavior discrepancy between CMM and LMM modes using hardware counters? — Parallax Forums

[SOLVED-ish] Propeller C: behavior discrepancy between CMM and LMM modes using hardware counters?

roblgroblg Posts: 2
edited 2020-01-02 05:16 in Propeller 1
Update: I continued stripping things out and I think I've narrowed it down to the compiler optimizations that were originally in the Makefile I'm using to compile Simple-Libraries (which I borrowed from some github repository) so that's on me, as I suspected it might be.

For funsies, I also verified that stripping out everything and starting from propeller.h + copying the three functions used (low(), get_state(), pause()) results in the expected (identical) behavior between LMM and CMM memory modes.

Onward! And, as they say: it's never a bug in the compiler ;)

Hey all,

I've got an Activity Board WX (Rev A, Prop v1) that I've been playing with off and on for several years. I'm building Propeller C using PropellerGCC on Linux.

I'm seeing discrepancies in behavior between code compiled using the CMM and LMM memory models, and I'm sort of at a loss for direction on how to proceed. My intent is just to use the Propeller counter hardware to make one of the on-board LEDs pulse at 1s intervals. This setup is based on code in the servo360 library from "Simple Libraries", which I've been having trouble getting to work consistently.

The repro code is really minimal:
#include "simpletools.h"

void test_pulse(int pin) {
  low(pin);

PHSB = 0;
  FRQB = 0;
  // CTRMODE = NCO (Numerically controlled oscillator) -- single-ended
  CTRB = (4 << 26) | pin;
  FRQB = 1;
  PHSB = -(CLKFREQ); // count up by clock ticks for 1s

//print("%d, %d\n", (INA & (1<<pin)), (OUTA & (1<<pin)));

// block until pin goes low again
  while (get_state(pin)) {};

CTRB = 0;
  PHSB = 0;
  FRQB = 0;
}

int main()
{
  print("Starting\n");
  while (1) {
    test_pulse(26);
    pause(1000);
  }

}