Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Frustrations With Porting Spin to C (Using FlexGUI) [SOLVED] — Parallax Forums

Frustrations With Porting Spin to C (Using FlexGUI) [SOLVED]

JonnyMacJonnyMac Posts: 8,912
edited 2019-12-23 19:16 in Propeller 1
Having the desire to share my large library of Spin objects with those who prefer C, I decided to start by porting a my most recent objects for the TM1637 and TM1638 display drivers. I wrote Spin objects and test code for both devices in less than a day. Now, I've been programming in Spin -- almost every day -- for the last 13 years, so I'm pretty good at it.

While I don't routinely use C, I have used it enough to understand all but the most obtuse syntax rules, and over the years I have ported a lot of C code from other micros to the Propeller. Going from Spin -- except for very special cases -- is supposed to be easy; C dominates the programming world, it syntax is light and easy, etc., etc....

...my experience this week has been nothing but frustration.

I'm looking for guidance. And by that, I don't mean telling me to run my Spin code through some automated tool to do the conversion -- that's antithetical to deep leaning in my opinion. This exercise in frustation has been about learning, but I've had too much in the way of frustration and too little in the way of learning (something new).

I did get my C library for the TM1637 (2-wire) working after pounding my head on the desk dealing with SimpleIDE. Today I decided to try it in FlexGUI and, to my surprise, the frustrations are starting all over. I really didn't expect this after getting it to work under SimpleIDE.

These are the steps I took:
1. I created a separate library folder so that my custom code wouldn't be wiped out by replacing the FlexGUI folder. (C:/MyPrograms/jm_libc)
2. I copied my .h and .c library files to that folder
3. I added that folder to the library folders list in FlexGUI
4. I wrote a little test code just to test the library connection