Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2p40 Help please — Parallax Forums

BS2p40 Help please

Hello from the UK

I am a total newbie with regards to programming and have had a problem dropped onto me that I am hoping you could help me with.

We use a BS2p40 within a PCB that drives a paper handling machine - within the program on the machine is a life counter (stored in the BS2p40).

Is their a short program that I can use to completely erase the program within the BS2p40 so that I can reprogram the PCB and thus have a zero life count ?

Thank you in anticipation

Dave

Comments

• Hello servo123,
    Welcome !

To start with the simplest solution...

Do you have the source code of the program running on that BS2p40 module.. ?

• Hi
    Yes I have the source code for the program.

I can post this tomorrow but what I am looking to do is just erase the eeprom and then reprogram.

Do you want me to post the source code?

And thank you for answering so quickly

Servo123
  • As VonSzarvas said, it would be good to have the source to figure out the variable that needs to be reset.
    Should be an easy fix.
  • tomcrawfordtomcrawford Posts: 1,126
    edited 2019-01-16 00:15
    As I see it, you just need to use the Basic Stamp IDE to compile and re-load your software. Presumably that will zero any counters. Of course you need the cable with adapter that goes between your PC and your board.

Edit: The cable is on the floor behind Juan's workbench. :D
  • VonSzarvas asked the perfect first question.

Also, if the BS2P40 can utilize slots, so each slot may need to be wiped. As mentioned, the source code will tell how the variable is being saved as well as determine if just a reprogram would wipe out the variable.
  • I agree it would nice to see the Pbasic code. I'm thinking you could just reload it if you know your code has everything you want.
  • Hello again and thank you all for the comments