Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Programming the chip (beginner question) — Parallax Forums

Programming the chip (beginner question)

Hi.

I'd like to learn how to use Propeller chips in my projects, and for the moment I'm trying to figure out how to program one. I don't have a clip/plug, but I was wondering if I could use a generic FTDI programmer (chinese clone, like this one).

I was planning to wire it up like in the attached pic, would that work?
And for writing the code, is PropellerIDE a good choice or is there something better?

Thanks and sorry if the question is dumb, I'm pretty new to electronics and I'd like to burn as few components as possible :)

Comments

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2018-08-29 02:00
    Hi galgaroth, welcome to the Parallax forum!

The basic hookup is fine but just plug the crystal in directly next to the chip and even cut the leads short on the crystal. Another thing is never ever forget decoupling capacitors, usually 0.1uF directly across the 3.3V and GND pins on each side separately, as close as possible to the chip, and again with short leads. Long leads = inductance, the enemy of high frequencies (in this case).

But the DTR can't be used directly as normally this feeds through a capacitor and then a transistor with resistors before connecting to the reset. My quick tip that I've used before is if you want to cheat in the meantime you can try it with a small 1,000pF or anywhere thereabouts capacitor between the DTR and reset. Ideally though when you have time look up the transistor reset circuit that's used.

BTW - I am assuming that "VCC" is 3.3V, do not connect 5V

EDIT - TRY - FRY - DIE
    just had a look at the FTDI board I think you are using and it is jumpered for 5V out. DO NOT CONNECT THIS - just leave it open and supply your board with 3.3V. Don't rely on the 3.3V that is available from the FTDI module as it is only rated for very light loads, not for the Prop.