Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
[Help] Power distribution from a 12v Li-ion battery — Parallax Forums

[Help] Power distribution from a 12v Li-ion battery

I am building my first robot and am scratching my head about power. I am a complete beginner so please bear with me :)

I have a small 11.1v 1500mah lipo battery powering the motors at the moment, a powerbank for the Raspberry pi.

At the moment my audio is a cheap usb speaker and I am about to swap it out for a 12v audio amp pcb, here lies the issue.

I assume just using a splitter on the battery output would be bad, and the output would need to be regulated or fused? I cant find any small premade pcb's that would fix this either.

Any suggestions for this newbie?

Comments

• Looks nice but it looks a wee bit to big for my project.

I was thinking something pre-assembled and no bigger than a credit card.
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    Building something like that on a small pad per hole perf board is not hard. I do that often for prototypes and occasionally use them as part of a finished project. The boards I use are 3" x 1.75" which is close to credit card size. I started one this evening and can post a picture if you are interested in going that route.
  • Not sure I have the skill or the courage to make my own, but sure, I am curious to see what you have made.
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    Not sure I have the skill or the courage to make my own, but sure, I am curious to see what you have made.

The only way to gain the skill is to make your own board, and a power distribution board is a good starting project. It's a relatively simple circuit using large easy to work with and solder components. Give it a try!

The 3 boards above the Propeller Activity Board are 3" x 1.75" boards I use for prototyping circuits. The left one has one pad per hole, the right is a "dip strip board".
    The center board is a dual MCP3208 prototype from an earlier project.
    3456 x 2592 - 2M
  • ercoerco Posts: 20,250