Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Having trouble starting off with WS2812 — Parallax Forums

Having trouble starting off with WS2812

I'm new with BlocklyProp and SimpleIDE and thought I'd start with a strip of WS2812Bs and an OLED on an Activity Board. I've done the basic "Hello World" with just SimpleIDE, then with BlocklyProp and all worked well. I then tried to light up a single WS2812B and it didn't work ... lit some colors ... not what I wanted ... sometimes didn't light up at all. I tried a string of 8 with 7 of them dark. It didn't work any better. The OLED worked fine. I've checked connections. The string of 8 had been used before with Spin. Attached is the C code.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2017-09-30 22:51
    I've tried again with the Spin demo programs for WS2812B and they work fine. Sometimes the BlocklyProp/C program works fine, mostly I get a quick flash, then nothing. I'll try inserting some delays.

Delays added to BlocklyProp/C didn't seem to help.
  • WS28xx timing is pretty fussy. Is it possible that the C translation of the WS28xx is running in LMM mode and having timing problems? I grasping at straws because I don't know how C works on the Propeller.
  • Mike, here's a manual conversion of JonnyMac's WS28xx Spin object to C++: https://github.com/parallaxinc/PropWare/blob/develop/PropWare/hmi/output/ws2812.h
    Shouldn't be too hard to move it from a C++ class to a C struct with related functions, but as always, let me know if you need help with that.
  • There is some ws2812 code in this project I did a while back to use a strip of ws2812 LEDs to simulate flames.

https://github.com/dbetz/flames.git
  • Can you post a link to your BlocklyProp code too?
  • Ken, How do I get a link to the BlocklyProp code?
  • Mike Green wrote: »
    Ken, How do I get a link to the BlocklyProp code?

Click on the "hamburger" menu on the far right and go to "my projects". Find the project and click on it.