Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newb looking to make a MIDI controller. — Parallax Forums

Newb looking to make a MIDI controller.

siike92siike92 Posts: 2
edited 2011-10-15 13:01 in Propeller 1
So, I'm rather new to this whole microcontroller thing but I've been researching for about 2 months. I'm a musician and I'm looking to turn an old supernintendo controller into a midi controller. I was originally looking at the basicstamp, but after scouring the forums I came across a couple threads that lead me to believe that propeller may be a better option.

The goal of the project is to send MIDI data out by pressing the buttons of the Supernintendo controller. I'd like the MIDI data to be sent through usb(so I'll probably using the Propstick USB?). I also want all the boards,controllers, and other electronics to be inside the Supernintendo controller.

So here are my questions,...

1. Is my idea feasible with propeller?

2. Is the project too far out of a relative beginners range?

3. I plan on using this kit, http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampModules/tabid/134/ProductID/506/List/1/Default.aspx?SortField=UnitCost,ProductName. Would that be all I need?

4. What about power? Would I need some type of powering unit or can I power it using the usb cable?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• siike92siike92 Posts: 2
    edited 2011-01-02 20:51
    Another question I forgot to ask, can I use PBASIC or do I have to use SPIN?
  • StefanL38StefanL38 Posts: 2,292
    edited 2011-01-03 00:54
    HI siike92,

welcome to the propeller-forum !

Your first two postings are really good! I want to explain about that:

- you give an overview about your project

- you give somehow detailed informaion about your skill-level in electronics and programming

- you are asking questions like they come into your mind

This all is VERY good

Now to answer your questions:
    the propeller can do that