Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Determining Oncoming Object Has Stopped — Parallax Forums

Determining Oncoming Object Has Stopped

Rizz1Rizz1 Posts: 3
edited 2009-06-24 15:42 in Accessories
I have a Basic Stamp II and have·a Ping Ultrasonic range finder on order.· I have a project where I want to monitor the decreasing distance to an oncoming object and fire a solenoid valve when the object "stops" (at least when the distance change is minimal).· I am new to programming but assume I can have the Stamp continue comparing·distance values from the Ping until the difference is virtually zero.· Once this condition occurs, an output signal can be sent to fire the solenoid.·

Is this a workable application for my Stamp and Ping?· If so, is there a reference code I can access and adapt?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-06-23 20:48
    I don't think there is any readily available code to do what you want, but it shouldn't be too difficult. You'll need a loop and two variables (old and new measurements) and you can break out of the loop when the two measurements are within x units of each other and less than the maximum. The within x units part is because the ping won't give a single reading for a stationary object: the reading will bounce around some within a more or less certain amount. The less than the maximum part is becuase if there's no object then it will get two "identical" readings, which based on the previous condition would indicate the need to fire a solenoid.

If you haven't done so already, take a look at the ping sample code on it's product page, and the books "What's a Microcontroller" and "Basic Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual" available as PDFs from Parallax.
  • Rizz1Rizz1 Posts: 3
    edited 2009-06-23 21:04