PORT problem BS2 stampW

ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
edited 2000-03-16 - 12:54:00 in Microcontrollers
Using stampw.exe ver 1.091 beta I can't find my serial port.
I have a good port on COM2 and it WAS working great with the stampw prgm.
Now it keeps saying it is looking for com3!! I dont have a com3 for the
prgm to use. HELP PLEASE!!
ron... the motor man...
Ronald Doctors
http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors

Comments

  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-15 - 11:19:00
    Ron,

    If StampW.EXE doesn't even look at COM2 it is usually because the port is
    already being used by other software or a modem. Do you have any other
    software running using COM2..? A lot of times only one program on the PC
    can have rights to the serial ports at a time. I would make sure that you
    don't have a terminal program or something open in the background (If you
    have nothing running using the COM port do a Ctrl-Alt-Del to make sure that
    all instances of any program using the COM port are not still running). If
    this don't work try restarting the PC and try again to make sure that no
    other software is using the Port.

    Jared

    Electrolinx - http://www.geocities.com/electrolinx/
    VB Overdrive - http://extreme-vb.net/vboverdrive/

    Original Message
    From: "Ronald Doctors" <rdoctors@h...>
    To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    Sent: Tuesday, March 14, 2000 4:40 PM
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PORT problem BS2 stampW


    > Using stampw.exe ver 1.091 beta I can't find my serial port.
    > I have a good port on COM2 and it WAS working great with the stampw prgm.
    > Now it keeps saying it is looking for com3!! I dont have a com3 for the
    > prgm to use. HELP PLEASE!!
    > ron... the motor man...
    > Ronald Doctors
    > http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
    >
    >
    >
    > eGroups.com home: http://www.egroups.com/group/basicstamps
    > http://www.egroups.com - Simplifying group communications
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-15 - 17:36:00
    HI,

    Thanks for reply and ideas . I use this port for a palm pilot quick link ,
    but i have to change the serial 9 pin plugs each time.
    The port works fine for the palm but not now for the
    STAMP when I cahnge over the 9 pin plugs.
    Is there any way to see if the com2 port is in use?
    Before I started using the palm it was fine...
    I get the "stamp11 detected but not responding" window so may be I have a
    problem
    with the STAMP. I checked 5.0 volts and it looks fine not sure what else
    i can check.


    From: "Jared Hoylman" <jh0794@d...>
    To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    Date sent: Wed, 15 Mar 2000 03:19:34 -0800
    Send reply to: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: PORT problem BS2 stampW

    > Ron,
    >
    > If StampW.EXE doesn't even look at COM2 it is usually because the port is
    > already being used by other software or a modem. Do you have any other
    > software running using COM2..? A lot of times only one program on the PC
    > can have rights to the serial ports at a time. I would make sure that you
    > don't have a terminal program or something open in the background (If you
    > have nothing running using the COM port do a Ctrl-Alt-Del to make sure that
    > all instances of any program using the COM port are not still running). If
    > this don't work try restarting the PC and try again to make sure that no
    > other software is using the Port.
    >
    > Jared
    >
    > Electrolinx - http://www.geocities.com/electrolinx/
    > VB Overdrive - http://extreme-vb.net/vboverdrive/
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: "Ronald Doctors" <rdoctors@h...>
    > To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    > Sent: Tuesday, March 14, 2000 4:40 PM
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PORT problem BS2 stampW
    >
    >
    > > Using stampw.exe ver 1.091 beta I can't find my serial port.
    > > I have a good port on COM2 and it WAS working great with the stampw prgm.
    > > Now it keeps saying it is looking for com3!! I dont have a com3 for the
    > > prgm to use. HELP PLEASE!!
    > > ron... the motor man...
    > > Ronald Doctors
    > > http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > eGroups.com home: http://www.egroups.com/group/basicstamps
    > > http://www.egroups.com - Simplifying group communications
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > -- 20 megs of disk space in your group's Document Vault
    > -- http://www.egroups.com/docvault/basicstamps/?m=1
    >
    >


    ron... the motor man...
    Ronald Doctors
    http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-15 - 18:14:00
    Ronald, I have a Palm Pilot too and I had those problems, check for
    the presence of the HotSync icon on the rigth low corner of your monitor. If
    it is present, close it, it is using your serial port. Every time you reboot
    your computer the HotSync software from the Palm Pilot starts, it is on the
    Starup group.

    Alfredo Valles

    Original Message
    From: Ronald Doctors [noparse][[/noparse]mailto:rdoctors@h...]
    Sent: Wednesday, March 15, 2000 11:36 AM
    To: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: PORT problem BS2 stampW


    HI,

    Thanks for reply and ideas . I use this port for a palm pilot quick link ,
    but i have to change the serial 9 pin plugs each time.
    The port works fine for the palm but not now for the
    STAMP when I cahnge over the 9 pin plugs.
    Is there any way to see if the com2 port is in use?
    Before I started using the palm it was fine...
    I get the "stamp11 detected but not responding" window so may be I have a
    problem
    with the STAMP. I checked 5.0 volts and it looks fine not sure what else
    i can check.


    From: "Jared Hoylman" <jh0794@d...>
    To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    Date sent: Wed, 15 Mar 2000 03:19:34 -0800
    Send reply to: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: PORT problem BS2 stampW

    > Ron,
    >
    > If StampW.EXE doesn't even look at COM2 it is usually because the port is
    > already being used by other software or a modem. Do you have any other
    > software running using COM2..? A lot of times only one program on the PC
    > can have rights to the serial ports at a time. I would make sure that you
    > don't have a terminal program or something open in the background (If you
    > have nothing running using the COM port do a Ctrl-Alt-Del to make sure
    that
    > all instances of any program using the COM port are not still running).
    If
    > this don't work try restarting the PC and try again to make sure that no
    > other software is using the Port.
    >
    > Jared
    >
    > Electrolinx - http://www.geocities.com/electrolinx/
    > VB Overdrive - http://extreme-vb.net/vboverdrive/
    >
    >
    Original Message
    > From: "Ronald Doctors" <rdoctors@h...>
    > To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    > Sent: Tuesday, March 14, 2000 4:40 PM
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PORT problem BS2 stampW
    >
    >
    > > Using stampw.exe ver 1.091 beta I can't find my serial port.
    > > I have a good port on COM2 and it WAS working great with the stampw
    prgm.
    > > Now it keeps saying it is looking for com3!! I dont have a com3 for the
    > > prgm to use. HELP PLEASE!!
    > > ron... the motor man...
    > > Ronald Doctors
    > > http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > eGroups.com home: http://www.egroups.com/group/basicstamps
    > > http://www.egroups.com - Simplifying group communications
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > -- 20 megs of disk space in your group's Document Vault
    > -- http://www.egroups.com/docvault/basicstamps/?m=1
    >
    >


    ron... the motor man...
    Ronald Doctors
    http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors

    -- 20 megs of disk space in your group's Document Vault
    -- http://www.egroups.com/docvault/basicstamps/?m=1
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-15 - 20:49:00
    > Is there any way to see if the com2 port is in use?

    An easy way is to try to connect HyperTerminal to the port. If you get a
    "Unable to open COM2" error then it is probably in use.


    > Before I started using the palm it was fine...
    > I get the "stamp11 detected but not responding" window so may be I have a
    problem
    > with the STAMP.

    This means that the DSR and RTS lines are tied together correctly, the PC is
    not receiving verification from the stamp that it is actually on the port.


    > I checked 5.0 volts and it looks fine not sure what else
    > i can check.

    Not real sure here either, hopefully someone else can jump in and help out.

    Jared

    Electrolinx - http://www.geocities.com/electrolinx/
    VB Overdrive - http://extreme-vb.net/vboverdrive/



    >
    >
    > From: "Jared Hoylman" <jh0794@d...>
    > To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    > Date sent: Wed, 15 Mar 2000 03:19:34 -0800
    > Send reply to: basicstamps@egroups.com
    > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: PORT problem BS2 stampW
    >
    > > Ron,
    > >
    > > If StampW.EXE doesn't even look at COM2 it is usually because the port
    is
    > > already being used by other software or a modem. Do you have any other
    > > software running using COM2..? A lot of times only one program on the
    PC
    > > can have rights to the serial ports at a time. I would make sure that
    you
    > > don't have a terminal program or something open in the background (If
    you
    > > have nothing running using the COM port do a Ctrl-Alt-Del to make sure
    that
    > > all instances of any program using the COM port are not still running).
    If
    > > this don't work try restarting the PC and try again to make sure that no
    > > other software is using the Port.
    > >
    > > Jared
    > >
    > > Electrolinx - http://www.geocities.com/electrolinx/
    > > VB Overdrive - http://extreme-vb.net/vboverdrive/
    > >
    > >
    Original Message
    > > From: "Ronald Doctors" <rdoctors@h...>
    > > To: <basicstamps@egroups.com>
    > > Sent: Tuesday, March 14, 2000 4:40 PM
    > > Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] PORT problem BS2 stampW
    > >
    > >
    > > > Using stampw.exe ver 1.091 beta I can't find my serial port.
    > > > I have a good port on COM2 and it WAS working great with the stampw
    prgm.
    > > > Now it keeps saying it is looking for com3!! I dont have a com3 for
    the
    > > > prgm to use. HELP PLEASE!!
    > > > ron... the motor man...
    > > > Ronald Doctors
    > > > http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
    > > >
    > >
    >
    > > >
    > > > eGroups.com home: http://www.egroups.com/group/basicstamps
    > > > http://www.egroups.com - Simplifying group communications
    > > >
    > > >
    > > >
    > > >
    > > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > >
    > > -- 20 megs of disk space in your group's Document Vault
    > > -- http://www.egroups.com/docvault/basicstamps/?m=1
    > >
    > >
    >
    >
    > ron... the motor man...
    > Ronald Doctors
    > http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
    >
    >
    > -- 20 megs of disk space in your group's Document Vault
    > -- http://www.egroups.com/docvault/basicstamps/?m=1
    >
    >
    >
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-16 - 03:17:00
    You and the other nice people were right!! I ought to have known better.
    Ah, well now i know i am not perfect...sorry to have taken up your STAMP time..


    Date sent: Thu, 16 Mar 2000 17:54:04 +0500 (GMT-5)
    From: Dale Harwood <dale@h...>
    To: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Send reply to: basicstamps@egroups.com
    Subject: [noparse][[/noparse]basicstamps] Re: PORT problem BS2 stampW

    > On Wed, 15 Mar 2000, Ronald Doctors wrote:
    >
    > > HI,
    > >
    > > Thanks for reply and ideas . I use this port for a palm pilot quick link ,
    > > but i have to change the serial 9 pin plugs each time.
    > > The port works fine for the palm but not now for the
    > > STAMP when I cahnge over the 9 pin plugs.
    >
    >
    > Ahhhh, you answered your own question I bet. If you have hot sync running
    > all the time it will not let you do anything with that com port. Click on
    > the hot sync on the task bar. Go to settings and select the option
    > Available only when palm desktop is running. This will free up your port
    > and allow stamp useage.
    >
    >
    > Dale Harwood [noparse][[/noparse] N4VFF ]
    >
    > internet> dale@h...
    >
    > ax.25> n4vff@n4vff.#cha.tn.usa.noam
    >
    > #include <std_disclaimer.h>
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > eGroups.com Home: http://www.egroups.com/group/basicstamps/
    > http://www.egroups.com - Simplifying group communications
    >
    >


    ron... the motor man...
    Ronald Doctors
    http://www.members.home.net/rdoctors
  • ArchiverArchiver Posts: 46,084
    edited 2000-03-16 - 12:54:00
    On Wed, 15 Mar 2000, Ronald Doctors wrote:

    > HI,
    >
    > Thanks for reply and ideas . I use this port for a palm pilot quick link ,
    > but i have to change the serial 9 pin plugs each time.
    > The port works fine for the palm but not now for the
    > STAMP when I cahnge over the 9 pin plugs.


    Ahhhh, you answered your own question I bet. If you have hot sync running
    all the time it will not let you do anything with that com port. Click on
    the hot sync on the task bar. Go to settings and select the option
    Available only when palm desktop is running. This will free up your port
    and allow stamp useage.


    Dale Harwood [noparse][[/noparse] N4VFF ]

    internet> dale@h...

    ax.25> n4vff@n4vff.#cha.tn.usa.noam

    #include <std_disclaimer.h>
Sign In or Register to comment.