Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Replacing/repairing SD card socket on scan tool circuit board — Parallax Forums

Replacing/repairing SD card socket on scan tool circuit board

I am new here but I have a problem that needs advice help. I have a rather expensive Automotive all systems scan tool that uses a Full size SD card to operate. Without the card this thing is a brick.
I have a situation where the SD card is not read by the device unless I put a piece of cardboard behind the SD card.
My conclusion is that the SD card contacts and the card reader contacts are not touching unless the cardboard is inserted to put pressure on the connection.
This expensive tool is 44 days out of warranty and I would like to repair it.
With the cardboard behind the SD card it works perfectly.
I have zero experience in circuit board repair but I am a “fixer” and a retired automotive technician with a degree in Applied Science Industrial Engineering.
I can solder and I have the time, patience and attitude to get the job done.
I just don’t know where to obtain the required repair parts and tools to begin.
So your advice and direction are requested.
I have attached some photos of the board.
I am certainly willing to let an expert repair this tool if one can be found. So far the manufacture has not given positive help, just general instructions.

Comments

• Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
    edited 2017-10-15 13:31
    Can you post a good closeup pic of the socket particularly showing the soldered pins?
    We will need to identify the socket - at least the sizing to find a replacement part. With a bit of luck I may be able to identify a possible replacement part.
    Where are you located?

If we can get all these answered, then we can help assist you to replace the part.
  • I am located in Virginia Beach, Virginia