Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
EEPROM Memory mapping — Parallax Forums

EEPROM Memory mapping

BasilBasil Posts: 380
edited 2007-09-26 22:27 in Propeller 1
Hi All,

Quick question, just need to check im on the right track [noparse]:)[/noparse]

I wish to duplicate a section of variables (declared in the VAR section) to another location in the EEPROM (After $8000)

How do I determine where to start and end the copy from? I assume its using pointers (which I have no experience with just yet).

Eg, say I wish to copy from 'flighttime' through to the 3rd value in 'Pyrosuccess' in the followinhg list of variables, do I copy from '@flighttime' through '@pyrosuccess + 4'?

VAR
  long  Stack[noparse][[/noparse]100]
  byte  Cog
  word  Pyro_Test         

long  flighttime             
  long  bGround                
  long  bAltMax                
  long  bVelMax             
  long  iGsMax                
  long  iAccMax              
  long  iVelMax               
  long  iAltMax               

long  StageIgnitionTime  
  long  StageBurnoutTime    
  long  Apogee               
  long  PyroFire           
  long  PyroSuccess        

Thanks for the help!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
-Alec

My our page

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-09-25 01:59
    Generally correct.
    But note that the variables will not always be in the order you have writen them dewn. The SPIN compiler re-orders them according to the following rule:
    - LONGs first
    - then WORDs
    - last BYTEs
  • BasilBasil Posts: 380
    edited 2007-09-25 02:25
    Thanks deSilva, thats what I was looking for [noparse]:)[/noparse]

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    -Alec

My our page
  • Chad GeorgeChad George Posts: 138
    edited 2007-09-25 17:04
    I've run into that on more that one occasion.

I understand the memory savings, but I do wish there was a way to mark a section of
    variables so they aren't moved around.