Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
PWM for motor speed control — Parallax Forums

PWM for motor speed control

BaldyBaldy Posts: 3
edited 2006-06-28 21:23 in Propeller 1
I am new to Parallax products so have no previous knowledge of basic stamp·techniques let alone propeller ones! I think propeller would suit the application I have in mind which is to vary the speed of a motor using a fixed frequency PWM signal and varying·duty cycles, the speed·being determined by a varied analogue input voltage.·I know a lot of products would do that very easily but I want to alter the relationship between the input voltage and the output pulse in many ways and determined by other analogue inputs and switches. This relationship will need·floating point arithmatic.
Problem is I am stumbling at the first hurdle as I can't see the way to generate the PWM pulses I need, can anyone point me in the right direction please?

Comments

• SawmillerSawmiller Posts: 276
    edited 2006-06-28 20:01
    the chapter 4 spin referance talks about using the cogs counters to do a PWM signal, also in the objects that you can download there is a BS2 object that mimics the basic stamps pwm command...
    dan
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2006-06-28 20:33
    As pure hardware peripherals, the counters are probably too fast to use for motor PWM control. The reason is that you would need to use the duty cycle output to drive the gate of a MOSFET which, in turn would drive the motor winding. But MOSFET gates have high capacitance and, driven at very high frequencies, will spend most of their time in the linear region, causing them to overheat. Because of the motor windings' inductance, you don't need such high-speed switching for smooth current flow.