Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Problems with Propeller Spin Support on Macintosh Computers — Parallax Forums

Problems with Propeller Spin Support on Macintosh Computers

varnonvarnon Posts: 184
edited 2018-03-20 16:22 in Propeller 1
Hi all,

I have been using the Propeller, with Spin, for 6 years or so. During this time I primarily relied on Propeller Tool for PCs, and BST for the Macs. I never had any problems. More recently, I have a newer Macintosh at work, and I am having great difficulty with the current generation of Mac programs. My colleague is also encountering the same problems as she is trying to switch from Arduino to Propeller.

I am going through each application, one at a time. Has anyone found workarounds for these problems? Perhaps I am looking at a small sample size, but this does not feel good for Mac users. I desperately need a recommendation for my colleagues and students that use Macs akin to "just download BST" or "just download Propeller Tool."

I have tested BST, Propeller IDE, and Simple IDE on my old home computer, a Mid 2007 iMac with El Capitan 10.11.6, as well as my work computer, a 2017 iMac with Sierra 10.12.6, and my colleagues's home computer, a 2012 Macbook Pro with Sierra 10.12.6.

BST
- Works great on my Mid 2007 iMac
- Program does not launch on the newer macs. Gives a "BST quit unexpectedly" error.
- I understand that this program is not supported anymore. Does anyone have it working on newer Macs? Or can it just be considered nonfunctional?

Propeller IDE 0.33.3