Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
FourSerial in Two Cogs at Once? — Parallax Forums

FourSerial in Two Cogs at Once?

I am trying to use the FourSerial module by Tim Moore (2008) to run 8 serial ports on my Propeller 1 chip. When I activate the second FourSerial cog, the whole system "freezes":
* No serial output
* No OUT10 toggle (see the code)
* The crystal clock is still running

I also have a Host PC serial connection on a Big Buffer mod of Full Duplex Serial, which I have been using for at least 5 years. All are 38400 baud. The map is:

Cog 2: FDS: Host
Cog 3: FourSerial1: four serial connected RFID readers
Cog 4: FourSerial2: Barcode, Printer, Debug port, Unused

I don't know how to tell anything else about the internal state of the chip, that is, what might be happening in this state. The chip does not feel hot.

Any ideas? Full code is in the ZIP below. Here is the important part AFAIK:
OBJ
  ' Note - do not set debug signals like OUTA[11] in code modules 
  '   that run in more than one cog.  The signals will interfere.
  Host : "BB_FullDuplexSerial"
  FourRdrs : "FourSerial"
  AuxSerial : "FourSerial"

PUB _Entry
  MAIN

PUB Main | hscog, llcog, ascog, r4cog
  hscog := Host.start(pLLIOHostRx, pLLIOHostTx, 0, 38400)
  AuxSerial.AddPort(kAuxSpDebugUsb, pLLIODebugUsbRx, pLLIODebugUsbTx, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud)
  AuxSerial.AddPort(kAuxSpBarcode, pLLIONewBarcodeRx, pLLIONewBarcodeTx, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud)
  AuxSerial.AddPort(kAuxSpPrint, pLLIOVprnRx, pLLIOVprnTx, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud)
  ascog := AuxSerial.AddPort(3, 24, 25, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud) 'Do we need all 4 ports running?
  'Comment this line and the software runs ok 5x5
  'Uncomment this line and the software fails every time:
  ' * no serial output
  ' * no OUT10 toggle
  'AuxSerial.Start
  FourRdrs.AddPort(k4RdrDb9, pLLIODb9Rx, pLLIODb9Tx, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud)
  FourRdrs.AddPort(k4RdrConn12a, pLLIOConn12aRx, pLLIOConn12aTx, -1, -1, -1, 0, kTargetBaud)