Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Cannot pass data between a cog running spin and a cog runnig pasm — Parallax Forums

Cannot pass data between a cog running spin and a cog runnig pasm

Hello everyone, I've been struggling with this problem for some time now and hopping that someone is able to lend a hand as I'm new to propeller. I'm struggling with passing data between a cog running spin and another cog running pasm. I'm writing a driver for an touchscreen display and have gotten basic functionality with it. The problem is that I cannot print even a small image (50x50 pixels) without it taking 2 seconds. To fix this I'm writing the function that sends data to the LCD in pasm in the hopes that I can print a large image almost instantly instead of a few seconds. The SPIN code sets a flag that indicates to the PASM code that it needs to draw an image and waits until it is cleared. The pasm code is currently able to realize that a flag is being set but nothing else. The pixel info and the flag is stored in Dat labeled datablock. If you have any ideas how to fix this issue or general ways to improve the code please let me know as I'm not yet familiar with proper propeller programming standards. Thanks in advance.

This is the slow spin code that is able to print an image which is what I'm trying to convert

pub LCD_Datawrite(Data)

pin.High(rd)
pin.Low(cs)
pin.Low(rs)
pin.Outs(dataend,datastart, data)
pin.Low(write)
pin.High(write)
pin.High(cs)
pin.Outs(dataend,datastart, $ff)
pin.High(rs)

This is what i have converted it into. The testloop is there only to check if i can write back to the datablock and will be removed later

DAT

org 0

asm_enter MOV memptr, PAR 'passing the first address of the data block to the counter
RDLONG flag, memptr 'passing the value that memptr points to into flag
TJZ flag, dataWrite 'if the flag is set then enter the loop

:testloop WRLONG lng, memptr 'loop to check if data can be written to the flag location
JMP :testloop