Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Float Math Errors?? Large, random numbers... — Parallax Forums

Float Math Errors?? Large, random numbers...

Hello,

Please forgive me if I miss any vital information, I'm still a bit new to this.

I am using the P8X32A-Q44 Microcontroller to read an inclinometer and an encoder and then spit the incoming values from both
of those to a terminal very quickly. I'm using the "F32_1_6" float math object and the "FloatString" object from the OBEX for all computations and conversion to string for displaying.

My problem is that about 1 in every 1000 readings that I get in is suddenly a huge number (always the same number), something like 6E27...
I thought maybe my fmath object was getting overloaded somehow because I'm having it loop through all the computations as fast as it can go, so I added a second fmath object running on another cog and am sending half of all the computations being done to that cog instead. This didn't seem to help, it may have lowered the number of anomalies but it's difficult to tell as it is random.

Does anyone know what is causing these sudden values? For what I'm trying to do, I need a constant stream of values coming in and they all reference that preceding value so it is very important that I do not have these anomalies in my data.

I am writing in Spin.

Thank you very much for your help,
if you need any other info just let me know

Comments

• ElectrodudeElectrodude Posts: 1,621
    edited 2016-07-11 13:49
    You can't overload an F32 object. When you call one of its Spin methods, the method doesn't return until it's ready for the next command. Using two separate objects in the way you are using them will only make things more complicated.

Have you tried printing out intermediate values to figure out where the numbers start being wrong?

Are you dividing by zero anywhere?