Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to start programming the ELEV-8 V2 flight controller? — Parallax Forums

How to start programming the ELEV-8 V2 flight controller?

I have an ELEV-8 V2 that I would like to use for a project in my controls class [college senior level]. While the V3 looks like it is a lot better I am on a tight budget, both for time and cost.

I have a lot of programming experience, though not much with the Parallax system. I would like to be able to access the code for the flight controller, figure out how the system works, and demonstrate how simple modifications affect performance. (Yes, I know how easy it will be to come up with impossible to fly settings). Since it is open source I assume that this should be possible.

My problem is that all of my searches are coming up with information on the V3. The source code on gethub is for the V3 and the links on parallax.com are coming up with only stuff for the V3. Can anybody point me where to get started on programming for the V2? What I really need is:
1) Where to download the latest source code
2) Documentation related to how it works (if it is not included above)
3) Instructions on compiling and installing the code on my quad (if they differ from compiling and installing other stuff with the propeller tool).

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2016-04-10 15:18
    Welcome to the forums!

While the HoverflyOpen claims to be open, it is the hardware design that is open. The software is closed and has never been shared.

Having said that, Jason, who wrote the code for the Parallax V3 controller, took a stab at some code for the HoverflyOpen.

I have attached the files.
  • The HoverFly was not a Parallax product, and HoverFly wasn't interested in releasing their code. If you do a forum search for QuadX Open you should find the thread that the code above came from.