Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Noob Question... — Parallax Forums

Noob Question...

Hi there,

so, I'm new to BS, and I have a little question for you All.

I'm try to run a very simply routine as below:

do
pulsout 14, 6000
pause 20
pulsout 15, 200
pause 20
loop

I need a frequency of 50hz with around 50% duty on PIN 14 and a frequency of 350hz around 50% duty on PIN 15....in the same moment.

So, is very simply routine...but I have a problem... the instructions are followed line by line from the BS2...and the result is that the pulse on the pins is the same, for example on PIN 14 I have a pulse of 50hz with duty of 30% and on PIN 15 I have a pulse of 49hz but with a duty of 80%.

So, I think the problem is because the BS2 flow the routine line by line...but this is not right for me.

How I can do for have the right result?

Thanks for your help, and sorry for the very noob/stupid question.

Regards
Fabry

Comments

• Fabry,

You're right, each instruction is executed in sequence. But you can do something else that works up to about 500Hz. See the sample code below, which gives 350Hz and 50Hz on my BS2.
    ' {$STAMP BS2}
    ' {$PBASIC 2.5}

x VAR Word

Hz50 PIN 14
    Hz350 PIN 15

OUTPUT Hz50    ' make outputs
    OUTPUT Hz350

DO

TOGGLE Hz350      ' toggle 350Hz pin

x = x + 1 // 7    ' count 350Hz, zero every 7th time

TOGGLE Hz50-x     ' toggle 50Hz pin(s)

x = x             ' waste time

LOOP

' note pins 8-13 will also toggle at 50Hz if set to output

• The BS2 can only do one thing at a time, either generate a stream of 50 Hz pulses or a stream of 350 Hz pulses. While it is making the 50 Hz pulse on pin 14 NOTHING will be happening on pin 15. The result of your program is that you will get a single long pulse on pin 14, then a single shorter pulse on pin 15, repeating at about a 50 Hz rate. In order to have two, independent streams of pulses at different frequencies you will need another processor.