Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Serial LCD not updating... — Parallax Forums

Serial LCD not updating...

tenslowtenslow Posts: 6
edited 2015-07-30 18:29 in Propeller 1
I'm using Parallax's 4 x 20 LCD, and a hall-effect flow meter to measure flow rate, calculate total volume pumped, and mix a little salt into the mixture.
The display worked great, until I added my "NaCl" function- which uses the "total volume pumped" variable to calculate how long a small pump will turn on. Now it doesn't update- it'll display the flow rate and volume for a few seconds, but then it won't update! The Simple IDE terminal still updates and shows the correct information, but the LCD won't- it even overflows sometimes, after doing nothing.
I'm new to the propeller, so I'm wondering if I broke some rules with the way I used my global variables, or my cogs.
I did my best to comment my code (see attached), so I hope I just performed a rookie mistake.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,Tony

Comments

• DavidZemonDavidZemon Posts: 2,973
    edited 2015-07-30 13:22
    My first recommendation is to wait much longer before turning on your LCD. I had the weirdest problems writing my own driver (for a parallel LCD, not serial) until I increased the initial delay time (for power up) to 250ms. It seems like an eternity, but a lot of weird problems went away after that.
    I'm specifically referring to the second line of StartLCD: "pause(5);"
  • My first recommendation is to wait much longer before turning on your LCD... I'm specifically referring to the second line of StartLCD: "pause(5);"

Thanks SwimDude0614,
    Tried your advice and changed pause(5) to pause(250): the LCD only updated for ~90 seconds, then it overflowed by displaying a few odd characters in the un-used positions. I even tried pause(500), but then the LCD didn't update at all...
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    Tony,