Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Installing Basic stamp editor software on a Mac — Parallax Forums

Installing Basic stamp editor software on a Mac

okanikecokanikec Posts: 4
edited 2014-10-05 08:49 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am new to microcontroller programming.

I just got a Basic Stamp microcontroller and I have a Macbook Pro with OS X 10.0.2

Please can someone assist me on how to install the Basic Stamp editor on my Macbook Pro.

Can the editor be installed directly on OS X 10.9.2?...or do have to get a virtual machine with Windows OS and install the editor on there..?

Comments

• ercoerco Posts: 20,250
    edited 2014-08-18 21:11
    okanikec: Welcome to the forums. I'm not a Mac user, but I know there is a Mac version of the Stamp Editor at http://www.parallax.com/downloads/basic-stamp-editor-software in addition to the Windows versions. See also http://www.muratnkonar.com/otherstuff/macbs2/

Please wait for someone more Mac-savvy than I to comment on using the Mac version vs. the Windows virtual machine version. Help generally arrives pretty quickly on this forum. :)
  • okanikecokanikec Posts: 4
    edited 2014-08-19 07:24
    Thanks erco

I checked out the links.

My Macbook runs OS X 10.9.2 though....the link says it the Basic Stamp editor software will not run on OS X 10.7 and later versions
  • PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2014-08-19 07:42
    okanikec wrote: »
    Thanks erco

I checked out the links.

My Macbook runs OS X 10.9.2 though....the link says it the Basic Stamp editor software will not run on OS X 10.7 and later versions

Did you try this download?

http://www.muratnkonar.com/otherstuff/macbs2-experimental/downloads.shtml

It is supposed to support 10.7 (Lion) and newer. Version 3.0.6. (From the Parallax page erco linked to).
    edited 2014-08-20 21:09
    Thanks Publison.
    edited 2014-09-01 21:45