Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Reading Input Value — Parallax Forums

Reading Input Value

DHoganDHogan Posts: 40
edited 2012-02-07 14:15 in General Discussion
Hello,

I'm a newbie to using SX/B. Currently, I am working on a project that involves taking an input value from a receiver and comparing that value against known values to see if they match, and if they match, lighting up an associated LED. I'm stuck on how to code this so it holds the input value I'm receiving from the receiver. The values are all 8 bits long. We currently have the input going to RA3, so I believe we would want to store the input value in a variable (i.e. PButton VAR RA.3). Below is what I have so far.

DEVICE SX28, OSC4MHZ, TURBO, STACKX, OPTIONX
FREQ 4_000_000

PButton PIN RA.3 INPUT
Lock PIN RB.1

PROGRAM Start
Start:
IF PButton = 10011111 THEN ' check input
High Lock
PAUSE 250
END
GOTO Start

' IF statements go here

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much for your assistance,

Dillon

Comments

• DHoganDHogan Posts: 40
    edited 2012-01-17 10:21
    I modified the code quite a bit and am now able to light up an LED using the following:

DEVICE SX28, OSC4MHZ, TURBO, STACKX, OPTIONX
    FREQ 4_000_000
    Test Var Word

'SignalDetect VAR Byte

PROGRAM Start
    Start:
    DO
    SignalDetect PIN RA.3 INPUT
    Lock PIN RB.1
    Unlock PIN RB.2
    Trunk PIN RB.3
    Panic PIN RB.4
    Do
    RCx VAR Byte ' for storing input
    WATCH RCx
    Get_RC_Pulse:
    IF SignalDetect = 1 THEN Get_RC_Pulse ' wait for pin to go low
    PULSIN SignalDetect, 1, RCx ' measure 10 - 2550 us pulse, 0 = 0ms, 100 = 1ms, 200 = 2ms, 150 = 1.5ms (neutral)
    ' now RCX approx 100-200 (if there are actual pulses). You could adjust it so 128 = neutral...., etc
    High Lock
    Pause 500
    Low Lock
    GOTO Get_RC_Pulse