Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LM10 and its ilk in circuits — Parallax Forums

LM10 and its ilk in circuits

john_sjohn_s Posts: 369
edited 2011-10-11 20:44 in General Discussion
Tracy,

Thank you for allowing me to open this new thread. I figure it might do good to exchange thoughts related to LM10 and its ilk in circuits. Also, I'd like to pay a small tribute to Robert (Bob) Widlar, Bob Pease and Jim Williams and the amazing amount of designs they left with us.

In various appnotes there are number of circuits applying LM10 in very original and - needles to say - exotic ways. For example, you can single power LM10C and connect its output directly to +40V and still does the job. That feature alone plus many others found its use in the simplest and most elegant 4-20mA transmitters I ever saw.

attachment.php?attachmentid=84794&d=1315028057

As I studied the LM10 based 4-20mA circuits (including emesys UCLC) I kept asking myself the following questions:

Q1: How did they arrive with that formula for the output loop current?
Q2: What is the 'save' range of resistor values R1, R2 and R3 in 4-20mA current loop circuit when Vsupply covers an industrial range (say from 9 to 40VDC) ?
Q3: How can I transform a build in 200mV Vref into a Current Source using only a minimal number of additional components yet without touching LM10's op-amp section to the right?

I was informed that the the first question is presented as 'an exercise for the students' during interviews at Linear Technology.

Thanks,
John
1010 x 457 - 39K

Comments

• john_sjohn_s Posts: 369
    edited 2011-09-08 13:15
    Attempt #1:

Let's resolve the values needed for R1 and R2.
    Let's assume we have a model for LM10 in a form of LT1635 cousin circuit.

In such case can we say that when R1 = R2 each of them equals at least 50 Ohm? I guess NOT as LTSpice simulation shows that R1 has to be at least equal 100 Ohm alone, otherwise the Vref Voltage Follower above does not work.