Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Having trouble getting PWM transistor voltage up to 5 V? — Parallax Forums

Having trouble getting PWM transistor voltage up to 5 V?

HarrisracingHarrisracing Posts: 10
edited 2011-08-02 14:19 in Propeller 1
First of all - I am a mechanical engineer, not electrical, so forgive my ignorance on transistors, but I'm learning and getting closer every day.

I am reading a Pot + Resistor + Capacitor loop on one pin with RC Time with great results. I am then using these results to run another COG that sends a Pulse-Width-Modulated signal out of another pin. When I measure voltage out of this pin I get a VERY nice, smooth and steady voltage signal out of it with a smooth sweep from 0 - 3.3V as I adjust the POT.

Since I need this output to go to 5V, I used the 5V power from my Professional Development Board and wired it to a 2N2904 NPN Transistor. I am running the 0 - 3.3V PWM output to the BASE and the 5V to ground (or through LED for testing) across the COLLECTOR / EMITTER legs. I am getting solid 5V to the one leg, but as I move the BASE from 0-3.3V (checked there too), the output is only going 0 - 2.71V

I have tried replacing the NPN transistor with different transistors and even a Darlington transistor all with the same results.

What am I doing wrong?
How can I get 5V out of this transistor?

Thank You,
Patrick

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2011-08-02 11:25
    By your description it seems you're attempting an emitter follower. Its output will always be a diode drop less than the base voltage: 3.3V - 0.7V = 2.6V
  • HarrisracingHarrisracing Posts: 10
    edited 2011-08-02 11:43
    So, would using an OP-AMP in a non-inverting amplifier do the trick? Here is the wikipedia example: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Op-Amp_Non-Inverting_Amplifier.svg

All I'd have to do is set my R1 and R2 values according to the equation to end up with my 0-5V output...right?