Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with Project — Parallax Forums

Need help with Project

Ganni17Ganni17 Posts: 11
edited 2009-04-21 05:32 in Accessories
I am building a model of a retractable speed bump, depending on speed of upcoming car, the bump goes up for going over speed limit and down for under. I am looking to use the parallax, ping ultrasonic sensor and a microcontroller to pick up and determine speed of upcoming car. I also want my microcontroller to tell my bump to go up or down. I was planning on using a airbag system to raise and lower bump. I have no experience with any of this, so am I heading in the right direction? Is this idea possible with these products? Do I have the right products or should I be using something else? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Jessica UelmenJessica Uelmen Posts: 490
    edited 2009-03-10 20:40
    Hello,

Your duplicate posts in the Stamps in Class and Robotics forums have been removed. Please refrain from duplicate posting.

Thank you!

Jessica

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jessica Uelmen
    Education Department
    Parallax, Inc.
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2009-03-10 20:46
    Additional duplicate message removed from BASIC Stamps forum.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-03-11 00:36
    The ping probably wouldn't work well, since it requires head on (perpendicular) surfaces to reflect the signal back, and ultrasonic is fairly slow and limited in range. Take a look here for a better speed idea:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=732526