Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Go-Cart Project — Parallax Forums

Go-Cart Project

JafarJafar Posts: 3
edited 2004-12-28 21:38 in General Discussion
Hi.

I'm new to the microcontroller world.· I have a BS2 and I've been experimenting with it for a while.

I'm a formula 1 fan and I love the technology that they implement on their racecars including the steering wheel.· I would like to create an add-on to the·steering wheel of my go-cart, that displays the RPM or speed on a LCD screen.·

Since I am new to this kind of stuff, I don't think I know what I'm looking for.· I've researched sensors among other things but I cannot tie it to the microcontroller.

Any suggestions or information that you may have will be greatly appreciated.

I hope that this project will lead to further projects that I can do in the future.

Thank You,
Jafar Mohammed

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Aerospace Engineering Student,
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Comments

• Jon WilliamsJon Williams Posts: 6,491
    edited 2004-12-21 18:11
    There are days when I wish I hadn't sold my go-kart.... I, too, am an F1 fan.

The saftest thing to do, I think, is use some sort of inductive coil on the sparkplug line. The output will require conditioning to make it clean and squre before taking it into the BASIC Stamp.

Since you're new to microcontrollers, this might not be the best starter project. You should consider working your way competely through "What's A Microcontroller?" so that yu get a firm handle on BASIC Stamp programming and interfacing. After that, you'll be about ready to tackle your go-kart tach.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Jon Williams
    Applications Engineer, Parallax
    Dallas Office
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2004-12-21 18:55