Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Autonomous Toy-Boat GPS and R/C Controlled — Parallax Forums

Autonomous Toy-Boat GPS and R/C Controlled

jhoyozajhoyoza Posts: 72
edited 2012-01-13 07:33 in Robotics
TheWorks.jpg

I’m not sure any project is ever truly complete. So many more things to think about, such as cameras, two-way-radio-communications and perhaps even game-playing such as GPS racing or battle-boats! Some hobbyist actually use real gas-powered BB-shooters to sink each other! Or how about being the first solar powered autonomous toy-boat around the world? (That is if something doesn’t eat-it, shoot-it, or steal it?) The list is endless.

Satellite communication and inexpensive electronic gadgets makes this all possible.

Anyway, this is my first attempt at using a programmable controller. I'm aware that I'm not the first person to make a GPS guided boat and I thank those who emailed me to clarify that. It took me a while, but I settled on the Parallax stuff as I could read about it before I purchased anything. I was very much impressed with the downloadable manuals and free software. I soon purchased a starter kit, and I was hooked! I now own at least one of every 24 pin BS2 module sold. However, I was adamant on making this project work on a plain ole’ BS2, and all I can say is, “I can’t believe it ate the whole thing!”