Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
visualising RS 485 signal for reproducing it with an arduino — Parallax Forums

visualising RS 485 signal for reproducing it with an arduino

Hello guys
i have a heat recovery ventillation system controlled with an HMI,it has 2 motors, one for air ventillation and one for air extraction,with the possibility of controlling the speed of the ventillation (speed of the motors)
i want to control the heat recovery system by changing the speed of both motors with a smartphone, via an arduino
the HMI is connected to the main board of the system through an RS 485 communication standard(as written in the manual) 4 wires: (2 wires for power:0V and 12V, and 2 wires A and B for data)
i am new in this field and i had the idea of somehow getting the data signals for each function of the controller and then recreating those signals with the arduino
what to do ?!
thank you

Comments

• You do know that this is the Parallax Forum, not the Arduino.cc forum?
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    The signal is pretty straight forward. It is a differential signal, meaning that one wire is at (or near) 0V and the other at 5V for a zero and the opposite polarity for a one bit. The data is asynchronous serial and the typical data rate is from 19,200 baud to 115,200, although it can go faster or slower. The hard part is figuring out the protocol and commands. Hope you have or can obtain a manual.
  • You really need to include an RS485 transceiver chip. I would not try driving or receiving the signal just with microcontroller pins. The transceiver will provide much better driving current, as well as isolation from common-mode excursions and protect the micro from them.

-Phil
  • "You do know that this is the Parallax Forum, not the Arduino.cc forum?" ...

Yes Hal Albach, but to a new person I can see the possible confusion ...... See link below

https://www.parallax.com/search?search_api_views_fulltext=Arduino