Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Running A Robotics Contest with XBEE..Please help! — Parallax Forums

Running A Robotics Contest with XBEE..Please help!

Kevin PaceKevin Pace Posts: 7
edited 2012-05-08 06:49 in Accessories
I have been running a robotics competition for the last 4 years and we have been using the PROP with the XBEE PRO 802.15.4 Modules. In the past few years the contest has not had a large number of bots....Maybe 60 or so. This year we expect about 200 Robots in attendance. Although we have a system that is working...Its far from perfect and Im looking for some advice from some of you that have a lot more experience than I do with the XBEE modules and the PROP. I have talked with the tech support at Digi for quite some time and have continued to improve communication with the XBEES but I'm not sure we have exhausted all avenues.

The biggest issue we have right now is erratic behavior. One person will be driving their robot and it will start doing bizarre things and the driver loses contro of the robot. This happens frequently and is concerning for those who are driving!

Here are the settings we have programmed the XBEE modules with:

* We are spreading the Channels out. We are using all 12 channels and putting a standard number of robots on a single channel. Around 16 Robots on a single channel.
* We are using a 4 digit PAN ID for each PAIR of xbees. (We have an xbee as a transmitter and one as a receiver coupled on both sides with a Propeller.)
* There are at least two digits that are different in each PAN ID. An example would be one pair with # 2015 and another pair with # 2026
* We are using a PS2 Controller for robot control.
* The DL and MY values for each pair are opposite numbers . On a transmitter we might have a DL of 5968 and a MY of 5967 They would be reversed on the Receiver.
* On the level 1 robots we are using a POWER LEVEL of "0" because they only have to transmit across an 8 foot span.